FGP Names Conservation Scholarship Winners

The Foundation for Geauga Parks (FGP) Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the winners of FGP’s 2023 Conservation Scholarships. Fundamental to the Foundation mission is to nurture our next generation of conservationists. To that end, in 2023 FGP launched the Conservation Scholarships Program to support students who plan to enter studies in the areas that promote education, preservation, conservation and appreciation of natural resources.

“We are committed to supporting the education of our future scientists, naturalists and conservationists,” says FGP Executive Director Christine Davidson. “There is no greater investment we can make to protect Geauga County’s beautiful natural resources.”

The following students have demonstrated exemplary aptitude and have expressed interest in furthering their studies in environmental sciences or nature education. Many who graduated from Geauga County Schools also participated in and benefited from Geauga Park District's Nature Scopes Binocular Program, proudly funded by the Foundation for Geauga Parks since 2003.

Hanna Busby, Kenston High School
Gaetono (Guy) Difini, Kenston High School
Nathan Eads, Chardon High School
Kendall Guddy, Chagrin Falls High School
Alexis Jahnke, Chardon High School
Julia Jaworski, Notre Dame Cathedral Latin
Ella Pitz , Kenston High School
Anna Schneider, Andrews Osborne Academy
Olivia Walker, Kenston High School
Jordyn Wichert, Berkshire High School

Also, Congratulations to the students awarded scholarships through the Protect Geauga Parks' Bob McCullough Memorial Conservation Scholarship Program, supported by FGP.
Emily Berdis, West Geauga High School
Olivia Walker, Kenston High School
Jordyn Wichert, Berkshire High School

See photos and details at FGP Scholarship Program | Foundation for Geauga Parks



Hambden Township Awarded Pollinator Project Grant

The Foundation for Geauga Parks’ latest initiative aims to educate and engage Geauga County residents about the importance of pollination.


GPD Nature Writing Contest

The Foundation for Geauga Parks is very excited to once again sponsor the Geauga Park District's 29th Annual Nature Writing Contest. Calling anyone who has ever been inspired by Nature: Geauga Park District is now accepting entries into its – Nature-inspired poetry and prose by creative writers of any age, be they experienced writers or complete amateurs. Let nature inspire you this month and get writing…you never know where creativity will get you!   Entries must be received by Earth Day, April 22